06
Apr
09

Just as we suspected, Fanboys.

So… I took last Thursday off because it was my birthday and because it’s a busy time of year. Mostly for the birthday thing though… because I’m not out of things to say on this blog yet! Let’s talk about Fanboys. I’d been looking forward to the movie since the trailer (before Clerks 2 I think?). To quickly sum this review up before I even begin, it was better than I thought it would be, but if you were hyping yourself up for it for the last year and a half or so, chances are you’ll be let down just a tad.

Oh, let’s get this out of the way… the cancer plot is in the movie. Hooray for everyone who fought for that… I guess. It didn’t clash with the tone of the movie at all, nor did it bring an overly heavy feeling to the ending. It was fine, and all the arguing about it on both sides seems like it was a waste of effort.

The movie was pretty funny though. Of course, it’s littered with Star Wars quotes and references, which for the most part are well placed and well written. Some of the lines are stuck in there just for people who know the movies by heart, others are quite obvious. The humor outside of the Star Wars jokes is pretty good as well, even if it is some somewhat well worn territory.

The cameos and supporting performances were fun as well. I don’t want to go through and list them all, since some of them will be a surprise for people. I don’t think I need to say that you will be seeing a handful of actors from Star Wars and a handful of actors from the Judd Apatow crew of comedians. I will say that the Kevin Smith cameo was probably his best one to date… by far.

I recommend Fanboys for those who were looking forward to it. Obviously, this is kind of a niche thing, but if nerdy reference humor is at all your type of thing, go for it… it’s better than so many similar films. Go check it out. 🙂

The Robotron Diaries : I think I may have peaked forever now. I got one insanely good (for me) score when I was in the zone one afternoon… and I think it’ll take weeks of work before I even come close to breaking it. This is kinda sad, because it means progress will be harder and harder to come by. I did think I was playing particularly well, but I also think I got lucky to a certain extent. If you manage to snag a whole bunch of the humans in the brain and tank waves before things really go to hell, you can net yourself a ridiculous amount of points and 1ups. Anyway, the current score is 560350 on wave 22. I’m not proud of it… but it’s the best I’ll be doing for a while.

0 Responses to “Just as we suspected, Fanboys.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

