16
Dec
08

James Cameron, we love you, stop swimming.

James Cameron is one of the greatest directors ever. I think quite a few people are willing to go with me on that one. As a kid, James Cameron movies ruled my life. Aliens was one of the first “scary movies” that I saw… and Terminator 2 is still one of my absolute favorites. I got into The Abyss when I was a little older. I’d still probably stick True Lies in a top 10 action films of the 90s list. 

A while ago he found the remains of Christ. How could the man who directed Terminator 2 NOT find the remains of Christ. Even as a kid… I was kinda expecting that one. How the hell that story wasn’t bigger news is absolutely beyond me. I was really hoping for him to helm Aliens 5 or something… but I’ll take raiding Jesus’ tomb if necessary. Dude he raided a tomb! He’s a tomb raider! It’s not just any tomb either… it’s the most important tomb for the history of Christianity! What I’m saying is the man is awesome no matter what he does.

Let’s not forget that he made Titanic… the highest grossing movie EVER. He’s done so much for movie making in general, both on an artistic and technical level. So… why is he only doing documentaries these days? I think it’s a cool enough diversion… and maybe I’m selfish, but I want more Cameron films! Stop swimming around in your super awesome submarine thingy and do a movie!

It looks like he’s going back to filmmaking though. He’s making a film called Avatar that is science fictiony and 3D. Hopefully it won’t be gimmicky and will show good writing as well as good technical execution. By the way it has nothing to do with that last airbender show that those kids love these days. That’s territory for that dummy M. Night. My pal James Cameron is also working on a feature film version of Battle Angel Alita. It’s about robots and he’s behind it … I’ll buy my goddamn ticket now.

For years I’ve been telling James Cameron to get out of the water and back behind the camera… and it looks like he finally will. Hooray! 

I apologize for the lateness of this post. It’s only late by a few hours, and even that is due to a flight delay. For the next little while your reddingmineshaft material will be posted by correspondence from the far off tundra of Nova Scotia. Now, I’m going to go hunker down with a copy of The Abyss… I suggest you do the same.

3 Responses to “James Cameron, we love you, stop swimming.”


  1. 1 Jane Simmons
    December 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    James Cameron had nothing to do with the ORIGINAL
    finding of that Jesus tomb

    • 2 reddingmineshaft
      December 18, 2008 at 12:15 pm

      I know I know, I was just trying to have some fun with it. To be fair, he did bring it to public attention though. I think I heard he ripped the REAL Jesus tomb discovery from Louis CK and Joe Satriani.


Leave a Reply

